‘A few of my favourite things’- Friday

Word of warning: I didn’t get much sleep last night, if you know what I mean…not that, my Dad was watching the election. All night. So I am slightly sleep deprived. And not sure what day it is.

Glee/Via glee.wikia.com
Glee/Via glee.wikia.com

So then it must be Friday! Thanks Glee.

Every Friday, I’ll be sharing with you a few of my favourite things from the week. And this blog couldn’t have come at a better time, since I’m not thrilled with the outcome of the election, particularly in my borough. So taking the advice of The Sound of Music, when the dog bites, when the bee stings, when I’m feeling sad…

The Sound of Music
The Sound of Music

So here are a few of my favourite things!

Tickets, Tickets, Tickets!

hi

I may have gone on a bit of a ticket spending spree this week. But in my head they are justifiable purchases…

Soo, I get free tickets to shows at the theatre where I work, so I’ve basically saved £120! Even though I probably wouldn’t have gone to all of the shows, but shhhhh, logic! So, in my head, I’m like: ‘Well, since you’ve saved money on that, you can spend it on other useful things: clothes for holiday, save it for a rainy day or for your studies’. And then I thought: ‘NAH! I’m going to spend it on more tickets!’ There is a theme emerging with the tickets, and if you put 2 and 2 together, you could probably work out which theatre I work for 😉

The first set I’ve booked I’m VERY excited for! I’m going to New York for 4 days in December 😀 and that means I’m going to get to see a show on Broadway, and I’ve decided to see….Something Rotten! It’s basically a musical about writing a musical, but set in the 1500s and Shakespeare is portrayed as a rockstar! It sounds amazing and has just been nominated for 10 Tonys! Check out a clip from the show below:

 

Plus, it features Christian Borle who is amazing in Peter and the Starcatcher, and his Smash co-star Brian d’Arcy James. I’m also hoping to see something else while I’m there, but money, money, money, aka WHY ARE THE HANDLING FEES SO HIGH?! $35?! THEY’RE LIKE £3 IN LONDON AND I GET ANNOYED AT THAT! Any recommendations? I’m thinking either Finding Neverland or An American in Paris.

And the second thing I’ve booked this week is closer to home: the RSC and the Barbican’s King and Country: Shakespeare’s Great Cycle of Kings. Commemorating the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death, they will be staging Richard II, Henry IV Parts I and II, Henry V, one night after another in January next year. And not only am I excited about seeing this theatrical experience. But they’re reprising David Tennant’s Richard II. Which I haven’t quite processed yet!

Copyright RSC
Copyright RSC

Day and out about in London:

IMG_2784

So as some of you may know, I went to see War Horse on Tuesday this week with my amazing friend Jas, who is even more amazing because she took the day off work so we could wander round London before hand. That’s me, above, waiting for Jas at the Eros statue in Piccadilly Circus. That’s my best ‘windswept and interesting’ impression. It was freezing and windy, but I am like 99% sure I saw Jared Padalecki aka Sam from Supernatural strolling past. So it was worth the cold!

I haven’t really wandered round the area for a while, and I’d forgotten just how close everything is. I mean, we walked through Piccadilly, Leicester Square, China Town, Covent Garden and Holborn. All in like the space of an hour! It really is a great area to wander through, and Jas and me are either going to go back and do a walking tour of West End theatres, or properties on the Monopoly board! Here are some of the theatres we saw that day:

IMG_2778IMG_2803

IMG_2805

Memorable moments of the afternoon include: nearly getting run over by a bus which ran a red light, and in my head going…

Midnight Cowboy/Via emlii.com
Midnight Cowboy/Via emlii.com

but in reality probably jumping back and shouting expletives; going to the AMAZING Theatre Cafe (which you can read all about here); having a good catch up with Jas; and a visit to a strange, new world…

M&Ms World

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory
Charlie and The Chocolate Factory

I think M&M were trying to emulate Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory in their London store. Instead it’s less a world of pure imagination, and more a world of pure indoctrination! The smell, the disorientation, being surrounded by bright colours, and nowhere you can turn without bumping into a lifesize M&M. It seemed less like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and more like A Clockwork Orange!

But I think that’s why I enjoyed it…well ‘enjoyed’ is quite strong…was bemused by it. For those of you who haven’t been, it’s the most bizarre experience ever. 4 floors (maybe more, who knows) of M&Ms. Not just the sweets. Merchandise. Everything you can imagine, but with M&Ms on. Earrings, golf balls, ties, snowglobes, panties, golf club sock things. Why, just why? But there was something even more bizarre…

You know when you were a kid and you got your shoe size measured in Clarks, and the best thing was going on that machine/platform to get it measured. Yeah, they have a similar structure, which measures your mood and matches it to an M&M colour, for some reason. I was Electric Green, so ‘creative’, apparently. I thought it randomized the result. But when you get up there, you see there’s a tiny camera. Why? So either that means it’s some poor sod’s job to watch people and assign them a M&M colour. Or this is all part of a grand, evil scheme by M&M, sorting us into groups before their inevitable world domination.

Copyright M&Ms
Copyright M&Ms

Or you know, it could just be a bit of fun.

Leave a Reply

