When Musical Words Pop up in Everyday Conversations

END OF 1ST WEEK WORKING FULL TIME!

It’s been a great week: completing my 1st week, knowing I can do this full time, a press invite, AND the Tony Awards!

But it’s also been quite an exhausting week! And when I get a bit overtired, my words tend to fail me. Case in point: last night when asked if I wanted any wine, instead of saying ‘Im fine’, I said, ‘I’m wine’.

And not only do words fail me, but I tend to fall back on musicals to express how I feel. You know, like Miranda does with songs:

Interviewer: A lot of our products are for children, young families. Do you have kids?

MIRANDA

 

but she can’t stop herself…

miranda2

And she can’t stop…

miranda3

And that’s basically what I do. When I hear certain words which are from musicals, I can’t help but finish that sentence with the correct lyrics. No matter what the situation! So here’s a list of words or phrases which when I hear, I HAVE to sing along to!

 

Talking About Current Affairs:

Other person: Have you heard about what’s going on in Uganda?

Normal response: I know, it’s awful isn’t it.

Me: UGANDA! Cool…where is that? Africa! Oh boy, like Lion King!

RANN

 

Talking about relationships

Other person: I can’t believe he did that to her. He deserves everything he gets.

Normal response: I know, I can’t believe that.

Me: Yeah…I know…I guess you could say…

Other person: Please don’t…

Me:

CHI

 

Other person: I don’t know who’s telling the truth. But you know what I believe?

Normal response: What?

Me: That the Lord God created the universe.

Other person: No, I believe…

Me: That he sent his only son to die for my sins.

Other person: *sigh*

Me: AND I BELIEVE, that ancient Jews built boats and sailed to America.

BEL

 

At work

Customer: So how long have you been working here?

Normal response: A year, in total.

Me: FIVE HUNDRED, TWENTY-FIVE THOUSAND SIX HUNDRED MINUTES!

SEA

 

Trying to have serious conversations

Other person: I’m so excited for this opportunity. It’s opened up, like, a whole new world to me.

Normal response: That’s so great! Well done you!

Me:

eye

 

Other person: *annoyed* JESUS CHRIST!

Normal response: What’s wrong?!

Me: JESUS CHRIST. WHO ARE YOU, WHAT HAVE YOU SACRIFICED?

Other person: No, I’m really annoyed. Damnit!

Me: Janet, I love you!

Other person: No, I mean it, I’m genuinely in trouble, I’m really fucked.

Me: Yeah you’re fucked alright, and all for spite, you can kiss your sorry ass goodnight!

Other person:

Me:

Spring Awakening/Via Tumblr.com

 

Other person: I think I’ve worked out how to deal with that problem. Step 1:

Normal response: *listens patiently*

Me: He’s off to Harvard Law, so I get in there too.

Other person: No, wait, so Step 1…

Me: We find the worst play ever written. Step 2: We hire the worst director in town. Step 3: We raise two million dollars. One for me, one for you! There’s a lot of little old ladies out there! Step 4: We hire the worst actors in New York and open on Broadway and before you can say, Step 5: We close on Broadway, take our two million, and go to Rio!!!

Other person: Why am I friends with you again?

 

Other person: I hope you’re happy…

Normal response: I’m not, I’m so sorry for what I’ve done.

Me: I hope YOU’RE happy. I hope you’re happy too. I hope you’re proud how you would grovel in submission, to FEED your own ambition.

HAPPY

8 thoughts on “When Musical Words Pop up in Everyday Conversations

      1. Keep these fun stuff coming! Maybe I should write one as well… I have tried something similar, though it was not meant to be hilarious. Check out “A Random Medley” on my blog, and see how many references/song lyrics you manage to catch! I have three of them now, and they are meant to be continuous. So read sequentially, haha.

        Like

      2. Yeah, I’d been meaning to write one for a while, but trying to get the tone right was bugging me! But think it worked 🙂
        Omg, just read your first ‘Random Medley’ and love it! So clever- and so many musical references! Love it!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thanks for reading! You could go on to the others; the whole series is supposed to be a continuous story haha. Anyway, since the Tony Awards just finished, I am reminded of something. “Best Play goes to The Curious Incident of the Dog of the Night-Time!”

        Normal response: Great! Woohoo! *Applause*

        Me: (announcer goes “… Night-Time!”) Sharpens, heightens each sensation. Darkness stirs and wakes imagination.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

