Musical Mondays: A to Z of Showtunes

I’m a bit hooked on Something Rotten, if you couldn’t tell from the last few months of gifs from the show.

And quotes from the show.

And tweets about going to see the show.

IH

I mean come on: it’s Shakespeare AND musicals AND Christian Borle. That’s a winning combination right there.

Anyway, one of my favourite songs from the soundtrack has got to be ‘A Musical’. And being a song about musicals, it features lyrics and extracts from other musicals within it, explored in detail by Chow Kim Wan. It’s all very meta, something I normally hate. But here, I love its use.

And as I was listening, I thought about just how many great showtunes there are. And then I thought, why don’t I do an A to Z of all of them. And then I thought, NO because that would take like a week! So instead, here is my A to Z of showtunes all of which are from different musicals. Plus I figure some of you could use it for teaching kids their A to Zs, while ingraining in them a love of musicals from an early age! One of my best friends is having a baby, and I may or may not be presenting this list in a little A to Z book…although perhaps I’ll change the ‘T’ song!

Preview Image lways True to You (In My Fashion), Kiss Me Kate

Preview Image    etrayed, The Producers

 

Preview Image hip On My Shoulder, Legally Blonde

 

Preview Image  efying Gravity, Wicked

 

Preview Image   verybody’s Got the Right (Reprise), Assassins

Preview Image   antasies Come True, Avenue Q

 

Preview Image  imme, Gimme, Gimme, Mamma Mia!

 

Preview Image ard to be the Bard, Something Rotten

 

Preview Image  Believe, The Book of Mormon

 

Preview Image acob and Sons, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat

 

Preview Image illing Time, American Psycho the Musical

 

Preview Image a Vie Boheme, Rent

 

Preview Image emory, Cats

 

Preview Image o One is Alone, Into the Woods

 

Preview Image ne Day More, Les Miserables

 

Preview Image irelli’s Miracle Elixir, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

 

Preview Image uiet, Matilda the Musical

 

Preview Image ose’s Turn, Gypsy

 

Preview Image weet Transvestite, The Rocky Horror Picture Show

 

Preview Image otally Fucked, Spring Awakening

 

Preview Image nder Pressure, We Will Rock You

 

Preview Imageoldermort is Going Down, A Very Potter Musical

 

Preview Imageell, Did You Evah, High Society

Preview Imagepressing Yourself, Billy Elliot (yes, I did cheat a bit there!)

 

Preview Imageour Song, Moulin Rouge

 

Preview Image ydrate Anatomy, Repo: The Genetic Opera

One thought on “Musical Mondays: A to Z of Showtunes

Leave a Reply

