Why Aren’t You…Going to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival?

It’s that time of year again…

EDINBURGH FRINGE FESTIVAL!

It’s only 2 weeks until the biggest comedy festival of the year. And it certainly is pretty big, with over 50,000 performances in the space of 3 weeks. It’s sort of the unofficial home of comedy, but it’s not just that on offer. With plays, musicals, operas, workshops, game shows, flamenco, there is literally something for everybody!

fringee

Now, I know one reason why some of you aren’t going: money. But EdFringe actually prides itself on being affordable: there are tons of free shows and the festival has amazing deals. On Monday 10th and Tuesday 11th, most shows are 2 for 1 on their tickets. So dinnae fash yerself! The thing you may want to ‘fash’ yourself with is transport, which can bring up prices. My tip: Megabus it. Seriously, I just got a return for £20 using Tesco Clubcard!

And if you need any further convincing, here are my Top 5 reasons to go:

 

1) 4 Words: Silent Disco Walking Tour

When I said there is literally everything, I mean it!

I’m really hoping to go to Guru Dudu’s Silent Disco Walking Tour. And I don’t even like walking!

Taking to the streets of Edinburgh, Guru Dudu brings the walking silent disco to the UK for the first time, after successful runs or walks in Australia. Supplying headphones and music, all you need is enthusiasm and the ability to ignore the odd looks from strangers!

 

2) Get Your Own Back

Do you remember being heartbroken when Get Your Own Back stopped, and never getting to gunge that idiot you knew?

WELL NOW YOU CAN!

Get Your Own Back: Live! is at the EdFringe, and you can play it! For some reason, I’ve always had kids’ TV nostalgia at the festival: the last time I went, I saw Aunt Hilda from Sabrina the Teenage Witch. All I need now is Raven to go next year and that’s it, life made. And he’s Scottish anyway, so it’s not that much of a stretch to get him to go, right?

Warning, though: you may find yourself on the receiving end of a gunging.

 

3) Musicals, Musicals, and MORE Musicals

     

Seriously, there’s a musical version of everything. And not just ‘a’ musical version.

There are 2 different musical versions of Game of Thrones.

I mean, how’s a girl to choose?!

Some of the more familiar shows include Avenue Q, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, 3 yes 3 versions of Into the Woods, and again not 1 but 2 productions of The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.

There’s also a bunch of new musicals, with everything from Great British Bakeoff spoof The Bakewell Bake Off: A New Musical, to Ushers: The Front of House Musical. Which I wish I could see, but alas have a bus to catch.

 

4) Edinburgh is Beautiful

1
Photo by Mark Shimazu Photography

You don’t just visit Edinburgh for the festival. Okay, some people do. But there’s so much more to see!

Our bus gets in before the shows start, so we’ll be doing some sightseeing. I say ‘sightseeing’, I mean walking to pretty spots so I can get some good photos for my blog!

Princes Street Garden is lovely in the morning, and a walk along the Royal Mile is a must. I would recommend doing Camera Obscura, but entry is like £13 so not really within my budget. But for an equally good view, go up Calton Hill or Arthur’s Seat. We’ll also be doing some Harry Potter sightseeing, including the cafe where JK Rowling wrote, and there’s a free Harry Potter tour if you have time!

 

5) Deep Fried Mars Bars

m

2 thoughts on “Why Aren’t You…Going to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival?

Leave a Reply

