Shakespeare September- Day 1: Favourite Quotations

Welcome to the first blog for #ShakespeareSeptember!

Each day this month, I’ll be doing a blog about Shakespeare. And since this week’s theme is ‘Favourites’, I thought I’d start with a few of my favourite quotations and/or speeches from each of the plays. I’ve given one or two for each play, and they’re not my DEFINITIVE favourite quotations. Normally I find a new favourite one each time I read a play! It just depends what I’m reading it for.

I’m currently writing this while waiting for my flight, so I’ll be updating/editing it tomorrow and probably the rest of the week. Once the favourite lines inevitably change!

Comedy of Errors:

Antipholus of Syracuse

I to the world am like a drop of water
That in the ocean seeks another drop,
Who, falling there to find his fellow forth,
Unseen, inquisitive, confounds himself:
So I, to find a mother and a brother,
In quest of them, unhappy, lose myself.

Coriolanus:

Sicinius

It is a mind
That shall remain a poison where it is,
Not poison any further.

Coriolanus

…that prefer
A noble life before a long, and wish
To jump a body with a dangerous physic
That’s sure of death without it, at once pluck out
The multitudinous tongue; let them not lick
The sweet which is their poison

Hamlet:

Hamlet 

One may smile and smile and be a villain.

q

Macbeth:

Macbeth

Time, thou anticipatest my dread exploits:
The flighty purpose never is o’ertook
Unless the deed go with it; from this moment
The very firstlings of my heart shall be
The firstlings of my hand. And even now,
To crown my thoughts with acts, be it thought and done:

Othello:

Iago

[Love] is merely a lust of the blood and a permission of
the will. Come, be a man. Drown thyself! drown
cats and blind puppies.

Iago

For when my outward action doth demonstrate
The native act and figure of my heart
In compliment extern, ’tis not long after
But I will wear my heart upon my sleeve
For daws to peck at: I am not what I am.

Richard II:

Richard II

let us sit upon the ground
And tell sad stories of the death of kings;
How some have been deposed; some slain in war,
Some haunted by the ghosts they have deposed;
Some poison’d by their wives: some sleeping kill’d;
All murder’d: for within the hollow crown
That rounds the mortal temples of a king
Keeps Death his court and there the antic sits…

richard iii

Richard III:

Richard III

Murder her brothers, and then marry her!
Uncertain way of gain! But I am in
So far in blood that sin will pluck on sin

Romeo and Juliet:

Romeo

Tut, I have lost myself; I am not here;
This is not Romeo, he’s some other where

Romeo

O brawling love! O loving hate!
O any thing, of nothing first create!
O heavy lightness! serious vanity!
Mis-shapen chaos of well-seeming forms!
Feather of lead, bright smoke, cold fire,
sick health!
Still-waking sleep, that is not what it is!
This love feel I, that feel no love in this.

Romeo 

Is it even so? then I defy you, stars!

The Tempest

Caliban 

You taught me language; and my profit on’t
Is, I know how to curse.

1

Twelfth Night:

Viola 

Make me a willow cabin at your gate,
And call upon my soul within the house;
Write loyal cantons of contemned love
And sing them loud even in the dead of night;
Halloo your name to the reverberate hills
And make the babbling gossip of the air
Cry out ‘Olivia!’ O, You should not rest 565
Between the elements of air and earth,
But you should pity me!

Leave a Reply

