Shakespeare September- Day 14: The Globe Theatre

In a slight change to the schedule of #ShakespeareSeptember, I’ve decided to make this week Picture Week. This is because:

  1. I’m a lazy bum who can’t be bothered to do the Critical Analysis this week.
  2. My medication for my leg infection is making me drowsy.
  3. Seriously, it’s throwing me off completely: I spent a good half hour last night getting angry about an article I read saying Romeo and Juliet is about gender. Then spent another half hour debating gender boundaries, then physical boundaries, then liminality with myself. And then realised it was like 2 a.m.

So in order for those posts to be at least a tad coherent, I thought I would leave those until next week when I should be more my-Shakespearean-self.

I say this is Picture Week, and I mean this in the loosest sense. I will be posting pictures or scans of things from the Shakespeare or the Renaissance period in general which I’ve found interesting, i.e. expect lots of pamphlet covers on the plague!

Today’s pictures are of Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre, and I’ve included a few to show how it changes with the seasons.

IMG_2077
Summer at The Globe.
IMG_2395
Christmas at The Globe.

And as a bonus: a visit from the Holly Man, as part of the Twelfth Night celebrations along South Bank in January 2015.

IMG_2252
Twelfth Night at The Globe…no, not that Twelfth Night, not the play itself! The actual one.

Which is your favourite? (Hint: mine’s Christmas…speaking of which, it’s only 101 days until Christmas!)

Leave a Reply

