To See or Not to See? New York Edition

Start spreadin’ the news, I’m leavin’ today…

Well, technically in like two months…

NEW YORK, NEW YORK!

As I mentioned yesterday, Christmas is coming up soon. But before then, I’m off to New York for a few days with my Dad. And organisation mode is in full swing: guidebooks (✓), hotel (✓), planned-out-route-of-all-the-bits-in-Elf (✓). Fortunately for Dad though, no spreadsheets this time!

It’s my first time in New York and, actually, the whole of North America. One thing which I’m very excited about is going to Broadway and seeing some shows while I’m there. I’ve already booked two: Deaf West’s revival of Spring Awakening and one of the new shows on the block, Something Rotten!

That leaves me one more night or matinee to see a show. Well, technically, I could see matinees on the days I’m already seeing evening shows. But 1) I do want to do some sightseeing aside from Broadway, and 2) MONEY, MONEY, MONEY!

So today I thought I’d get you guys to weigh in on the third and final show I should see, before I book later this week. Obvious top choices which I’m not seeing are Aladdin (as it’s transferring), Wicked (seen it in London), Book of Mormon (again, seen it in London), and Matilda (haven’t seen it, but would prefer to see it with an actual English actress using an actual English accent). Which, yes, makes me sound like a bit of a snob, but my English friend saw it recently with US cast and said: ‘Great show, awful accents’.

I’ve, therefore, narrowed it down to three:

An American in Paris 

A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder 

Hamilton

Any thoughts/suggestions if you’ve seen any of these? Or any other shows I should see while I’m there?

2 thoughts on “To See or Not to See? New York Edition

    1. Good suggestion- I haven’t heard any rumours about it transferring to London, whereas there have been rumblings about Hamilton (touch wood). Song wise, I’ve only heard ‘Ring of Keys’, but everyone does say it’s good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

