Gotta find my purpose, Gotta find me: New Job!

I’m gonna find my purpose!
Could be far, could be near.
Could take a week, a month, a year.
At a job, or smoking grass.
Ha! Maybe at a pottery class.
Could it be? Yes it could.
Something’s coming, something good!

After seeing it a few weeks ago, I’ve had Avenue Q on the brain a bit! And with my new job starting, I’ve been thinking about my purpose. Which is definitely not being at a pottery class. Or smoking pot. Or basically anything involving the word ‘pot’!

But I’m not too broke or unemployed or turning 33, as the song goes. And having considered it, I’m not really I looking for my purpose. As I’m pretty sure I’ve found it.

So far, my direction in life professionally has been very similar: I studied English at BA, then Shakespeare at MA, while volunteering at The Charles Dickens Museum, then joined Shakespeare’s Globe where I volunteered and then worked in the Exhibition. There’s one thing in common here: Shakespeare. Even at The Charles Dickens Museum, they had a poster which referenced Gad’s Hill, the later home of Dickens and also where Falstaff commits the robbery in Henry IV Part 1. And every week, I would see it while stewarding!

So I’ve realised that Shakespeare is my purpose.

1

And no, not in a ‘I am Shakespeare reincarnated way’. More in that it’s part of my purpose, whether it be working in the theatre, doing a PhD in Shakespeare or teaching.

Case in point? I’ve just started my new job and guess what? It involves Shakespeare. Again!

And I’m happy to share with you all that I’m still at Shakespeare’s Globe but now working as a…

Digital Coordinator!

It’s a big step up, skill and responsibility wise. I’ve just completed my first week and everyone had been super friendly and helpful. And patient! It’s a role I’m enjoying and it’s certainly challenging; but I know I need to bear in mind that it takes time to learn everything. And it’s quite nice because it combines the new and the familiar: new skills but in a familiar environment. Plus, in addition to having lovely new colleagues, I can just nip downstairs and see all my friends from the Exhibition. So I get the best of both worlds. And now I’ve got that Miley Cyrus song in my head!

3 thoughts on “Gotta find my purpose, Gotta find me: New Job!

Leave a Reply

