The 10 Steps to Becoming Obsessed with Hamilton

I was at The Old Vic’s The Master Builder last night, which was incredible. Review of that will be up tomorrow, as I figured I’d be polite and wait for the actual press night before posting it. That and I would have had like 6 reviews in a row!

So I’m breaking up the reviews this week with a good old Tuesday List. Remember when I used to do that…? Me neither until I checked my tags!

And with news of Hamilton heading out on more tours, this means more and more people will get to see the show. And to mark the news, I thought I’d do a little guide on the steps of falling in love with Hamilton, told with Hamilton gifs (of course!) Because, let’s face it: we’ve all been here, we know these steps. In fact, fellow Hamilton trash, you probably know what gif I’ll use for each too!

Boom, ba, boom…

There are 10 things you need to know…

NUMBER 1: You hear there’s a musical. About the Founding Fathers. Told in rap.

1.gif
Source: Hamilton Gifs

‘Yeah riiiight! Like that’ll work!’

 

Number 2: You listen to the first song. And you’re hooked.

1.gif

‘…I was so wrong…Give me all the songs’

 

Number 3: You find out there are 46 songs. And realise that Lin Manuel is a genius.

1
Source: Hamilton Gifs

‘WOOO! Let’s do this!’

 

Number 4: 23 songs later and you hear, ‘Honey, you’ve been listening to that for hours…’

giphy (1)
Source: Little Rebellion That Could

‘I AM NOT THROWING AWAY MY SHOT…I mean, I AM NOT going to sleep until I finish the album.’ *dramatic black out*

 

 

Number 5: 46 songs later.

2
Source: Hypable

 

‘HOW COULD YOU LIN. HOW COULD YOU. I TRUSTED YOU! MY FEELINGS! IT’S QUIET UPTOWN…WHO LIVES WHO DIES WHO TELLS YOUR STORY…WHYYYY! EVERYTHING HURTS!’

 

Number 6: It’s 3 am. You’re crying. You have work tomorrow. You click repeat.

1.gif

 

Number 7: You’re hooked. You look up everything Lin Manuel has done.

1
Source: Tumblr

Turns out quite a lot. Allocate at least a week to learn the words to In the Heights.

 

 

Number 8: Some would say your obsession is becoming a problem.

1
Source: Giphy

Basically, you’re ‘Non Stop’ Hamilton and your friends are  ‘Aaron Burr, Sir’ Burr.

 

 

Number 9: You convince your friends to listen. They say ‘they’ll get round to it’. Patience, because…

1
Source: LemonHearted

 

Number 10: Because you know that 46 songs later…

1
Source: The Asterisk Today

They’ll love it as much as you do!

9 thoughts on “The 10 Steps to Becoming Obsessed with Hamilton

Leave a Reply

