Friday Favs: Theatre Edition

This week has gone on and gone on and on and on and on and on…

And not in the good kind of ‘Don’t Stop Believing’ way.

But it’s finally almost the weekend! Thank goodness! I’ve got two more shows this week, one in house and another one at Basic Space tomorrow. So I’m looking forward to seeing how Broken Stereo use the site, having seen Entita‘s use earlier this week. Plus, it’s a murder mystery!

There are a few favourite things which stand out, all of which are theatrey in some form. One which I can’t mention until I see it mentioned elsewhere. SECRETS, SECRETS, SECRETS!


 

Hamilton Grammy Win

And the speech. And the performance. Basically anything Hamilton did on stage at the Grammy’s. Oh and what they did off stage too!

First, we got to see the opening number in its entirety for the first time, as the cast performed ‘Alexander Hamilton’ before a packed Rogers Theatre. It was interesting to see the staging with the ensemble dancing, of which I’d only seen clips before.

And then the speech! Pride is not the word I’m looking for! I’m so happy for Lin and all the cast and hopefully this continues their winning streak on the road to the Tony’s!

 

Globe Cast Announcements…

1
Source: Shakespeare’s Globe

We’ve just announced the cast for some our Summer Season of Wonder, including Macbeth and A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Got my Midnight Matinee tickets booked already, so just need to get my groundling tickets for the rest of the season.

And also excitingly, we’ve just confirmed the cast for our Complete Walk. Two big announcements in one week!

The Complete Walk is part of the #Shakespeare400 celebrations: on 23rd and 24th of April 2016, 37 short films of each of Shakespeare’s plays will be screened along London’s South Bank and internationally, featuring a whole host of familiar faces. The cast includes some actors in current productions including Joseph Marcell and Pauline McLynn, as well as Globe alum such as Jamie Parker, Tom Burke and many others! And that’s not even the full list yet!

 

 

#37Plays365Days

1
Gemma Lawrence & Ken Nwosu. Image by Johan Persson.

Continuing on with the theme of #Shakespeare400, I’ve booked a few more shows as part of my blog’s celebration of this momentous year.

In case you missed it, I’m trying to see every play by Shakespeare this year: #37Plays365Days. I’ve just booked As You Like It at the National Theatre for March. And I just saw Curtain’d Sleep which doesn’t quite count, but the more Shakespeare the better!

I’m still missing a good chunk of the list, so if you have any suggestions, please keep tweeting or messaging them! I’m particularly interested in doing some more Off West End or EdFringe ones, so let me know if you or a friend etc. are doing one and would like me to check it out!

Oh yeah, by the way, I am SO doing EdFringe again this. And fortunately, not on a £50 budget! NEVER AGAIN!

One thought on “Friday Favs: Theatre Edition

Leave a Reply

