‘Another OPenin’, Another Show’: March’s Theatre Picks

It’s March, that sort of mid point between shows which opened in January and shows opening for the summer. But basically for me it marks another month closer to Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

There are actually quite a few theatre things to look forward to in March. And not all shows…

American Psycho Soundtrack

1
Source: American Psycho

Following its sold out West End run, the musical adaptation of American Psycho opened last month on Broadway. Fortunate for fans of composer Duncan Sheik, considering his other musical Spring Awakening just closed there. Double bill!

To tie in with this, the Original London soundtrack is being released this month. Only two years late! I’m quite pleased about this, because I personally love the original arrangement and I know a few changes have been made to the Broadway version, including an additional song. I have no doubt we’ll get an OBC soundtrack too, so I can see what the differences are. But in the mean time, I can’t wait for this soundtrack. And not just because listening to it reminds me of Matt Smith’s amazing dancing!

 

Doctor Faustus (7th March 4th August 2016, RSC Stratford Upon Avon)

1
Sandy Grierson and Oliver Ryan. Photo by Helen Maybanks, copyright RSC.

In case you couldn’t tell from my rather dramatic post yesterday, I’m a tad excited about this production.

A truly live theatrical experience and experiment, the RSC’s production sees two actors walk on stage not knowing who is playing Faustus and who Mephistopheles. Aside from that alone, the production pictures look like it’ll be amazing.

So basically despite the fact I’m saving money for a deposit and birthdays and Mother’s Day, I’m still trying to work out if I can squeeze in a trip to Stratford!

Miss Atomic Bomb (7th March-9th April 2016, St James Theatre)

1
Source: St James Theatre

Let me be perfectly honest: I don’t even know quite what this show is about.

All I know is it has Catherine Tate reuniting with Assassins costar Simon Lipkin. And Adam Long is one of the creative forces behind it, of the Reduced Shakespeare Company fame.

And yes, I am seeing it next week with no idea what will happen. But it’s new writing and I’m always up for that!

 

The Caretaker (26th March-14th May 2016, The Old Vic)

Continuing what is possibly the most talked about season on the West End this year, the Old Vic’s next offering is The Caretaker. This production also features Daniel Mays, who I last saw in Mojo and adored. Again, don’t know that much about the show, hence why I’ve included the above video to remind myself!

This is an incredibly hyped season for the Old Vic, featuring the likes of Ralph Fiennes and Timothy Spall to name but two.  In addition, it’s bringing both old and new shows, from Ibsen’s Master Builder to Olivier winning Tim Minchin’s original score for a new musical adaptation of Groundhog Day.

 

Motown the Musical (Booking until 18th February 2017, Shaftesbury Theatre)

1
Source: London Theatreland

Since Broadway are getting American Psycho, wrote getting one of theirs in return!

Motown the Musical (as the title suggests) celebrates the music of Motown including hits from Diana Ross, Stevie Wonder and the Jackson 5. There are over 40 songs in this show, rivaling Hamilton which is quite a feat! The story follows one man Berry Gordy, ‘the man who broke barriers and fought against the odds to define the sound of a generation‘.

It started previews last month and it has it’s official opening next week. Again, it’s always good to see new writing and I’ve heard things about it thus far, from here and across the pond.

 

What are you looking forward to in March? Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

