18-24th April: Shakespeare’s Birthday Week

It’s almost April and last week I expressed my excitement at it sort of almost not really being June. But April is just as exciting, because…

It’s Shakespeare’s Birthday!

And I am MORE than a bit excited about this.

The weekend of the 23rd and 24th is already shaping up to be quite the event. Well, that entire week is at it turns out. Here’s how I’ll be celebrating the big day and some other celebrations going on…


 

Monday: Whats On Stage Theatre Quiz

A quiz all things theatre related and at the theatre cafe…I’m sold! I’ve already booked my tickets for my of five. And yes, I’m already thinking up theatre pun related team names!

 

Tuesday: Twelfth Night at the Hope Theatre

My first Shakespeare play of the week is off West End at the Hope Theatre.

Thick as Thieves is staging Twelfth Night with a cast of just five. As I mentioned earlier this week, I’m looking forward to this having seen their production of The Tempest last year.

1
Source: The Hope Theatre

 

Wednesday/Thursday:

Apparently, I have nothing those evenings…yet.

I may well take this as a night off. And by night off I mean at home watching Shakespeare adaptations on TV. Here are my picks for what to watch on DVD:

1) Hollow Crown
2) Henry IV Part 1- Globe
3) Romeo and Juliet
4) ShakespeaRetold

 

Friday: Celebrating Shakespeare at the National

As part of the Shakespeare 400 celebrations, the National Theatre are doing a series of talks on Shakespeare in performance. I’m booked to see ‘Shakespeare at the NT: Writer For Today’ on the Friday, which explores Shakespeare and our contemporary culture and which will be led by Dominic Cooke and Ben Power.

1
Source: the National Theatre

 

Saturday: Shakespeare Live! from the RSC

If you’re really celebrating the birthday/death year/Shakespeare 400 in style, you’ll probably be pretty exhausted by this point in the week! Fortunately, the RSC had you covered as David Tenant will be overseeing a televeised celebration of Shakespeare’s legacy across all the arts, in a unique collaboration between the RSC and the BBC.

And if you’re up to it though, there’s even more on offer with Shakespeare in Parliament. The Arcola Theatre is doing a production of Richard II featuring a female Bolingbroke. On Saturday 23rd for one night only, this production will be playing at the House of Commons. Tickets are highly coveted for this theatrical event, so a ballot system is in operation.

 

Sunday: The Complete Walk

I’ll be spending my Sunday walking along the Thames, so fingers crossed for sun! The Globe is doing the Complete Walk: 37 short films for each of the 37 plays, with each one displayed at a different location along the Southbank. They’ll be playing between 10am-10pm on Saturday 23rd and 10am-8pm on Sunday 24th.

And in the evening it’s the final performance of Globe to Globe Hamlet. This production is returning home, following a two year tour of the world, playing in every country. Not to be missed!

1
Source: Shakespeare’s Globe
Leave a Reply

