37 Plays 365 Days: Update

I’m currently without internet in my flat at the moment.

1
Source: Bustle

This means I’ve been hastily writing my blogs on my commute into work. And when I say hastily, I mean hastily; my commute has been cut down from 1 hour to 20 minutes! I literally pulled into London Bridge as I finished drafting this one. Of course the sensible thing to do would have been to draft them at the weekend, when I had 1) access to a computer and 2) the foreknowledge that I would not have access to a computer for the next week. But that would have been too sensible.

This is shaping up to be quite the Shakespeare week in terms of an overriding theme, as today’s blog will be a quick update on my #37Plays365Days project. I think the title is pretty self-explanatory, but for those who missed the previous post, to celebrate Shakespeare 400 I’m seeing (or at least trying to) all of Shakespeare’s plays in 2016.

So let’s check in on my progress…

Tragedies:

Antony and Cleopatra
Coriolanus
Hamlet: Shakespeare’s Globe, 23rd-24th April 2016
Julius Caesar
King Lear
Macbeth: Shakespeare’s Globe, 18th June–1st October 2016
Othello
Romeo and Juliet: Garrick Theatre, 12th May-13th August 2016
Timon of Athens
Titus Andronicus

 

Comedies:

All’s Well That Ends Well
As You Like It: seen 3rd March at the National Theatre
The Comedy of Errors
Cymbeline: Shakespeare’s Globe, 17th September-16th October 2016
Love’s Labours Lost
Measure for Measure
The Merry Wives of Windsor
The Merchant of Venice: Shakespeare’s Globe and Touring, 30th June-18th September
A Midsummer Night’s Dream: seen 19th February at Shakespeare’s Globe; also seeing at Shakespeare’s Globe, 30th April-11th September 2016
Much Ado About Nothing
Pericles, Prince of Tyre: seen 4th January at Shakespeare’s Globe
Taming of the Shrew: Shakespeare’s Globe, 13th May-6th August 2016
The Tempest: seen 14th March at Shakespeare’s Globe
Troilus and Cressida
Twelfth Night: seen 24th February at Shakespeare’s Globe (Playing Shakespeare); also seeing at the Hope Theatre, 12th-30th April
Two Gentlemen of Verona: Shakespeare’s Globe and Touring, 20th May-31st July
The Winter’s Tale: seen 25th February at Shakespeare’s Globe

 

Histories:

Henry IV, part 1: seen 13th January 2016 at Barbican (RSC)
Henry IV, part 2: seen 14th January 2016 at Barbican (RSC)
Henry V: seen 14th January 2016 at Barbican (RSC); also seeing at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre, 17th June-9th July
Henry VI, part 1
Henry VI, part 2
Henry VI, part 3
Henry VIII
King John
Richard II: seen 12th January 2016 at Barbican (RSC)
Richard III: HOPEFULLY seeing at the Almeida, season announced 1st April

Checking in on the total tally at the moment, I’ve seen 10…only 28 to go!

1
Source: Tenny Confidential

Unfortunately though, we all know that famous saying: ‘the course of seeing 37 plays in 365 days never did run smooth’. Or something like that. While I’ll be ticking off a few more once the summer season starts at the Globe, I’m currently seeing multiple productions of the same play! Twelfth Night and A Midsummer Night’s Dream are case in point. And Henry V. And Richard II, because I really want to see the one in the House of Commons.

Not that that’s something to complain about. The more Shakespeare the better as far as I’m concerned!

Again, please do tweet or message me with your suggestions, especially needed considering that I have not heard of one place doing all the Henry VI cycle! I could be in trouble! Any suggestions? Please!

Leave a Reply

