‘Check 1, 2, 3’: Broadway Theatres Challenge

It’s almost six months since I was in New York (how time flies!)

A few months ago, I finally got round to writing up my adventures and reviews of the shows I saw. Among those was Spring Awakening at the Brooks Atkinson, which was playing just down the road from Hamilton. Speaking of which, I have found my new favourite gif, which sums up how I feel when someone gets Hamilton lyrics wrong:

1.gif
Source: tmpgifs

One of the features I didn’t get round to writing up was one which actually took me the longest to research/do! I thought it would be cool to try and take a photo of each of the major theatres on Broadway. TheatreMania has a handy map which I used in my quest:

theater-map
Source: TheaterMania

I saw ‘handy’…I still managed to get lost four times…

Shall we see how many I got…

Left to Right. Row 1: Studio 54, Broaway Theatre, August Wilson Theatre. Row 2: Neil Simon Theatre, Gershwin Theatre, Circle in the Square Theatre. Row 3: Winter Garden Theatre, Ambassador Theatre, Eugene O’Neill Theatre. Row 4: Walter Kerr Theatre, Longacre Theatre, Cort Theatre. Row 5: Samuel J. Friedman Theatre, Barrymore Theatre, Brooks Atkinson Theatre.

 

Left to Right. Row 1: Palace Theatre, Lunt-Fontanne Theatre. Row 2: Richard Rodgers Theatre, Marquis Theatre, Imperial Theatre. Row 3: Music Box Theatre, Al Hischfeld Theatre, John Golden Theatre. Row 4: Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre, Schoenfeld Theatre, Booth Theatre. Row 5: Minskoff Theatre, Majestic Theatre, Broadhurst Theatre. Row 6: Shubert Theatre, Belasco Theatre, St. James Theatre. Row 7: Helen Hayes, American Airlines Theatre, Lyric Theatre. Row 8: New Amesterdam Theatre, Nederlander Theatre, Stephen Sondheim Theatre.

Grand total…

38 OUT OF 39!

Not too bad, but also SO ANNOYING, I WAS SO CLOSE!

And I know the exact reason why I didn’t get the full set. The one I missed was the Lyceum. In London, The Lion King has been performing at the Lyceum for ever basically. I’d already ticked off The Lion King theatre. Which I assumed was also at the theatre of the same name in the US, the Lyceum. Turns out it’s not. It’s at the Minskoff Theatre.

Although, this does give me a reason to go back!

It was quite a fun challenge I set myself, as it turned out. It me a good morning to do and it helps you to get a sense of the general Broadway layout. Although I did do it on the last day! I’d definitely recommend doing this if it’s your first time in New York!

 

 

Leave a Reply

