Tony Awards: Favourite Performances

Apparently, it’s only 59 days until the Tonys!

How do I know this? Well, Facebook notified me two days ago that it was only 61 days until James Corden hosts the Tony’s. Not quite sure why we need a countdown from that obscure number…

Nominations haven’t even been announced yet, but I’m still excited! Who will win best actor? Lin Manuel Miranda for Hamilton? Leslie Odom Junior for Hamilton? And what about best actress? Renée Elise Goldsberry for Hamilton? Phillipa Soo for Hamilton? In case you couldn’t tell, I’m a tad biased.

So with the ceremony only 61 days away, to mark this momentous occasion I thought I’d look back at a few of my favourite performances from recent years. These include both cast performances and opening/closing numbers. Warning: expect Neil Patrick Harris to feature quite heavily.


‘Bigger’, Opening Number (2013)

For the lines: ‘we were that kid’. And of course:

“Can I have my Tom Hooper Les Mis closeup please? See, on Broadway we don’t need extreme closeups to prove we’re singing live. We sing live eight shows a week. Check it!”

 

‘I’ve Decided to Marry You’, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder (2014)

Seeing this performance actually made me want to go and see the show. And not just because of Bryce Pinkham’s amazing knee bend.

 

‘Sugar Daddy’, Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2014)

Neil Patrick Harris. Singing and dancing. In heels.

And let’s face it: better than I ever could!

 

Closing Rap (2011)

Probably my first encounter with the brilliance of Lin Manuel Miranda and his wordcraft, who wrote this rap recap of the show while it was happening live. Yes, I am aware ‘wordcraft’ is not a real word. It’s a new word I just coined: basically witchcraft but with words.

 

‘I Believe’, Book of Mormon (2011)

In the gap between the Broadway run starting and tickets becoming vaguely affordable for London audiences, this was the only thing that got us through this time!

One thought on “Tony Awards: Favourite Performances

Leave a Reply

