What Theatre Am I Seeing: May Edition

How is it nearly May?! We’re almost half way through the year. What’s going on?!

There are a few new shows opening next month, including the transfer of Broadway hit Aladdin. And May also brings with it the news of another transfer for next year: An American in Paris. Can you guess how excited my Disney and musical mad flatmate Claire is? And me

I’m seeing a few shows in May myself, unfortunately not Aladdin yet so I’ll have to wait to see that whole new world. But my Shakespeare excitement is continuing on from the birthday month, as you’ll see in a moment…


The Play That Goes Wrong

1
Source: westendtheatre

I bought Claire tickets to this for her birthday, as she has seen Peter Pan Goes Wrong and the The Bank Robbery but somehow not the original play?!

I’ve seen it myself, but it’s good, fun farce and I didn’t really appreciate it this first time I went to see it. The inner lining of your uterus being ripped out tends to do that to you.

 

Macbeth and The Taming of the Shrew

tumblr_inline_o0ftnkxR8X1sv7xz7_500
Source: Shakespeare’s Globe

It’s the inaugural season for Emma Rice at the Globe and her theme for the shows is Wonder.

Both The Taming of the Shrew and Macbeth are opening next month, following on from A Midsummer Night’s Dream (which I’ll be watching tomorrow!) I, of course, won’t be reviewing them. I may be a tad biased in that respect!

But if you’d like to keep up with how rehearsals are going, you can read my interviews with the cast for the Adopt An Actor podcast series.

And as if two Shakespeare plays wasn’t enough for May, I thought why not see another! My friend Ed is performing in Romeo and Juliet. It’s my favourite play with one of my favourite people in, so I’m excited for this. Plus I haven’t seen the play in at least a year!

 

Doctor Faustus

Untitled.png
Source: Shakespeare’s Globe

As you may know, I hadn’t read or seenΒ Doctor FaustusΒ until Jamie Lloyd’s production. Having seen it, I’m still not sure I’ve seen the actual play…

So as if one production weren’t enough, I’m seeing our version of the play in the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. It’s a bit of a jump from Lloyd’s very modern, being performed entirely in original pronunciation. But I’m very excited!

 

Jekyll and Hyde

I’m not 100% sure what possessed past me to book tickets to this. A stage version of the play. Incorporating dance. Because we all know how well the last production which did that went down.

I like the plot and I’m excited to see how the Old Vic will adapt this and how it will play in the space. Wish me luck…!

Leave a Reply

