Tony Awards: Nominations

Today is the day!

…or rather the day before the the month before the next big day!

It’s Tony Nominations day!

1
Source: giphy

The Tony’s are only a month away, on Sunday 12th June. And yes, I’m very tempted to take a day off the next day, so I can stay up and watch it…even though I already have a week’s holiday the week before.

Thanks to time zones, I was actually able to catch some of the live coverage during my lunch break. So I thought I’d do my picks for this season, even though I haven’t actually seen any of the shows…so basically, they’re based on 1) ones I’ve heard of, or 2) names I like!


Best Play:otny.png

Nominees: Eclipsed, The Father, The Humans, King Charles III

My pick: King Charles III

A transfer from the UK and it’s an Almeida produciton AND it’s Sonia Friedman Productions. Plus, everyone I spoke to who saw it said it was quite good!

 

Best Musical:

otny.png

Nominees: Bright Star, Hamilton, School of Rock, Shuffle Along, Waitress

My pick: Hamilton

I mean, come on…need I explain?

Best Revival of a Play:

otny.png

Nominees: The Crucible, A View from the Bridge, Blackbird, Long Day’s Journey into Night, Noises Off

My Pick: A View from a Bridge

Again, Britain representing here! A Young Vic transfer, so have to go for this one.

Best Revival of a Musical:

otny.png

Nominees: The Colour Purple, Fiddler on the Roof, She Loves Me, Spring Awakening

My pick: Spring Awakening

I’VE ACTUALLY SEEN ONE OF THESE! I have to go with Spring Awakening, not just because it was an incredible revival, but also how ground breaking this production was in terms of accessibility.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical:

otny.png

Nominees: Alex Brightman (School of Rock), Danny Burstein (Fiddler on the Roof), Zachary Levi (She Loves Me), Lin-Manuel Miranda (Hamilton), Leslie Odom, Jr. (Hamilton)

My pick: Lin-Manuel Miranda

There are 46 songs in Hamilton. Lin appears in pretty much all of them. The man is non-stop! He’s an incredible performer and has reduced me to tears just from listening to the soundtrack, let alone seeing him performing live.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical:

otny.png

Nominees: Laura Benanti (She Loves Me), Carmen Cusack (Bright Start), Cynthia Erivo (The Colour Purple), Jessie Mueller (Waitress), Phillipa Soo (Hamilton)

My pick: Cynthia Erivo/Phillipa Soo

I adore Phillipa Soo and I think she should win. But judging by reviews from the Broadway and Menier Chocolate Factory,  I think Erivo could win this one and would deserve too. But having said that, like 30 minutes after writing this I changed my mind: ‘Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story’ and the cry before ‘It’s Quiet Uptown’, ughhhh Soo is so good in this role!

Best Performance by an Actor in a Features Role in a Musical:

otny

Nominees: Daveed Diggs (Hamilton), Brandon Victor Dixon (Shuffle Along), Christopher Fitzgerald (Waitress), Jonathan Groff (Hamilton), Christopher Jackson (Hamilton)

My pick: Daveed Diggs

Any of the Hamilton bunch should get this one, but my pick is Daveed. As much as I love Jonathan, he is literally only on stage for like four scenes (even though he makes quite the impact in them).

Best Performance by an Actress in a Features Role in a Musical:

otny

Nominees: Danielle Brooks (The Colour Purple), Renée Elise Goldsberry (Hamilton), Jane Krakowski (She Loves Me), Jennifer Simard (Disaster!), Adrienne Warren (Shuffle Along)

My pick: Renée Elise Goldsberry

I’m on a bit of a Jane Krakowski high, having just binged Season 1 of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. But Renée has this in the bag. I guess you could say I would be ‘Satisfied’ if she won…

 

Leave a Reply

