What I’m Watching: July Edition

HOW IS IT ALREADY JULY?!

I feel like I say this every month. But, oh my god. Where has 2016 gone?!

July is full of theatre for me. It’s only the 6th and I’ve already seen one show, Into the Woods. By the end of this week, I’ll have seen at least two more! Here’s what I’m seeing this month in theatre:

The Threepenny Opera, National Theatre

the-threepenny-opera-poster-v2-2578x1128.jpg
Source: The National Theatre

A new translation of Brecht’s original text, this production has performed well with the critics so far. Starring Rory Kinnear, it’s the second production I’ve seen him in this year. Here’s hoping it’s slightly less…well, whatever The Trial was!

Beetles from the West, The Hope Theatre

ht
Source: The Hope Theatre

I’m off to my favourite little theatre of big ideas, the Hope in Highbury and Islington. The plot centres around the issue of cancer, though deals with it from the perspective of those indirectly affected by it: family members and friends of the person dealing with it. Examining male health and the stigma so often attached, it should be a thought provoking evening. To find out more and hear from the creative team, read my interviews with Director Phil Croft and Writer James Hartnell.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, The Palace Theatre

pot
Source: Pottermore

Words cannot express just how excited I am about seeing this show. I can’t even write a preview right now, because I literally know nothing about it! But I’m sure it will be…

Magical…

Unreachable, The Royal Court

590x494.fitandcrop
Source: The Royal Court

Can I remember what this play is about? No.

It has Matt Smith in it, I can tell you that much.

Will I be able to tell you what it’s about afterwards? Probably not, as I’m going to a midnight matinee performance of Macbeth the day before. But I like the Royal Court and have not been there enough, so it’s always nice to go back.

Leave a Reply

