Thursday Favourites: Sondheim, Sandown & Sad4Sad

Bla bla bla, usual spiel of it being Thursday but doing Friday Favourites anyway!

Anyway, the reason I’m doing my favourite things today is because I have another favourite thing tomorrow. I’m off to see Beetles from the West tomorrow, which I am very excited about. I talked to James the writer and Phil the director of this new play, and I believe it’s a brave subject to be bringing to the stage.

On to other favourite moments from this week…


Ham4Ham (One last time…)

It’s a sad time for the Ham clan. Original Broadway cast members are leaving this week including Leslie Odom Jr., Phillipa Soo and Hamilton himself, Lin Manuel Miranda. Lin did his final Ham4Ham, reading a letter from Hamilton. Ham4Ham will stay alive though after him, as Rory O Malley is taking the reigns (get it?)

It’s a sad time but with it comes good news. Three new additions to the Hamilton family: Brandon Victor Dixon as Burr, Lexi Lawson as Eliza, and Javier Muñoz will take on the role of Hamilton full time, having alternated the role with Lin.

 

Into The Woods

into-the-woods-at-the-menier-chocolate-factory-abc07b3f1bf1693760ce4a76897b597d
Source: Visit London

On Monday I got to see a brilliant version of this musical at the Menier Chocolate Factory. I’ve only been to the theatre a handful of times, but I’ve always been impressed with what’s on show and at how the space can be transformed.

The full review is coming next week after Press Night. In the mean time, I’ll give a little tease: the sweetest introduction, olde timey vibe and the best damn cow this side of the woods! Very…amoosing!

 

Sandown Races (sing this song, doo dah, doo, dah)

13592749_10153859390581871_5400420743519557849_n

Last weekend, I got to see one of my best friends and her family. And even better, at the races!

We go like once a year, bet on some horses, inevitably lose and basically say, ‘Same time next year!’ It’s lovely, good fun, and brings us all together. I only got two winners, but better than my friend who got less…well, none!

Plus, the British weather was as hilariously unpredictable as always. When we left it was sunny, on the drive their it rained, and by the time we got there, blue skies!

Leave a Reply

