Greece is the Word

Earlier this month, I went on my first all inclusive holiday, a concept which was strange and new to my Dad:

Waiter: You’ve finished this bottle of wine. Would you like another?
Dad: and how much is that going to cost?
Waiter: …um, it’s all included…
Dad: ALL included?!
Waiter: …yes…

All the carbs 🍝🍟🍞#ImARealAdult #ThereIsNoFilterForCaloried

A post shared by Rona (@thriftytheatre) on

After getting over the initial shock, we had a wonderful time. We stayed in Halkidiki at the Ikos Olivia, a chain of all inclusive hotels in mainland Greece. It was my first time in the country and I would love to go back and see some more of the history (maybe avoiding the ‘men only mountain!) But this holiday was more of a sun, sea and sleep one, and it certainly delivered.

Going in October, we knew rain would be likely, but we were lucky enough to only get one full day of it. And as for the other spits of rain? Well…the cold never bothered me anyway.

rain

Located right on the beach front, you can literally walk out of breakfast and on to a sun bed. Three restaurants were located on the beach, and the food selection was brilliant (again, all included). The three on the beach include Fusco (Italian), Flavors (Buffet), and Ouzo (Greek), with Greek and French restaurants in site and local tavernas also included. Our favourite was Fusco, but here we get on to my only gripe.

I think kids are great. But just not when they’re near me on holiday. Not when I can hear them. See them, fine. Hear them, no. Adult Only areas are incorporated in the resort (on the beach and in the buffet restaurant), but hopefully next year, there may be more allocated and separate areas. I had a few other issues, but all were seen to by the friendly Guest Relations team.

I would say go there…but I want to keep it just between us! 😉

Nothing like the sound of waves to relax me 😊 And not a bad view ☀️#IkosOlivia

A post shared by Rona (@thriftytheatre) on

Leave a Reply

