‘Lights Out on Washington Heights’ – In the Heights, Final Performances

There are just a couple of days to experience the life of what it’s like In the Heights. After three Olivier wins, residencies at two top London theatres, there is only one week left to see the show. So if you were thinking of seeing the show, God damn, you gotta get on that! I already have my discounted Under 25 tickets for the last night (just a few months more to use that!) Tickets are still available for the final few performances; click here for dates and prices.

Written by Lin Manuel Miranda, the show originally ran 2008 to 2011 on Broadway. Three years later it came to London, opening at Southwark Playhouse and then moving to Kings Cross Theatre for a limited run. Two years later, that supposedly ‘limited’ run finally comes to an end on Sunday 8th January 2017. Sam Mackay has been with the show since day one in London, playing the role with Lin originated: Usnavi. He was determined to see the show to its end when I spoke to him, Gabriela Garcia and Damian Buhagiar in October. ‘I had to see it out! I had to! As I said, it’s a show that I hold very dear to my heart and always will…I really love this role, I’ve put a lot into it and I just wanted to see it out with the community as I think Usnavi would.’

It’ll be sad to see the show go. Bringing energy, heart and love to London, it’s had audiences coming back for more and more. In fact, Sunday will mark my fourth time seeing the show! But the community of fans need not fear: while 2017 marks the closing of In the Heights, it also marks the opening of Lin’s latest musical Hamilton. And with tickets going on sale on the 30th January, you don’t have too long to wait for it, wait for it, wait for it…

For more information about In the Heights and to book tickets, visit the show’s website.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

