Going to the Theatre: 25 moments told in 25 gifs

Whenever I go to the theatre, I have lots of thoughts racing through my head: what will it be like? Will I enjoy it? How are we gonna pay, how are we gonna pay, how are we gonna pay last year’s rent, this year’s rent, next year’s rent if I’m going to the theatre so often?

Tonight I’m going to see War Horse for the first time with one of my best friends, Jas! So I thought what better way for you all to get to know me, than by sharing with you those feelings that I (and probably you) commonly feel when going to the theatre, told in musical gifs!

When you arrive:

1) So excited! Seeing a show with one of my besties! Cannot wait to watch it!

Starkid/Via http://settleforbutterflies.tumblr.com/
Starkid/Via settleforbutterflies.tumblr.com

2) Didn’t even have to queue to collect them from the box office. Mainly because I’m 40 minutes early. Because I’m super organised 🙂

Mary Poppins/Via tumblr.com
Mary Poppins/Via tumblr.com

3) Ah, well, in most ways. I’ve arrived 40 minutes early. But that’s 30 minutes before my friend arrives…

Les Miserables/Via www.alimartell.com
Les Miserables/Via http://www.alimartell.com

4) Just got a text from my friend- they got off at a different tube stop and need directions. You know how awful my sense of direction is. Oh my friend, my friend.

Les Miserables/Via reddit.com

5) Okay, seriously, where are they?! We only have 20 minutes until it starts. And I read somewhere that apparently they start doing stuff on stage before the show starts.

Starkid/Via 1dpotterheadfreak.tumblr.com
Starkid/Via 1dpotterheadfreak.tumblr.com

6) THEY’RE HERE! ‘Have I been waiting long?’

Legally Blonde: The Musical/Via teenagefanatic.blogspot.co.uk
Legally Blonde: The Musical/Via teenagefanatic.blogspot.co.uk

7) In the seats! Let’s get this show on the road! Noooo, tall person, please don’t sit in front of me.

High School Musical/Via imgpod.com
High School Musical/Via imgpod.com

8) Hmmm, do I want a programme before it starts? £7, phhht, no thank you!

Disney/Via becomingmrsmccully.files.wordpress.com/
Disney/Via becomingmrsmccully.files.wordpress.com/

When the show starts:

9) Shit, should have brought a programme- who is that guy???

Disney/Via www.gifyoutube.com
Disney/Via http://www.gifyoutube.com

10) Don’t sing along, I know you’ve listened to the soundtrack on repeat but don’t sing alo- IT’S TIME TO TRUST MY INSTINCTS, CLOSE MY EYES…AND LEEEEEEEAP!

Fox/Via celebquote.com

11) Oh, I think they’ve gotten rid of that character. And cut that song. And my favourite speech. Nope. No. No.

Spring Awakening/Via giflike.com
Spring Awakening/Via giflike.com

12) *Sigh* Got a serious case of manspreading on the left.

Kiss Me Kate/ Via imgur.com
Kiss Me Kate/ Via imgur.com

13) And my friend can see this too. This can only mean one thing. Synchronised middle finger salute.

The Producers/Via Tumblr.com
The Producers/Via Tumblr.com

14) Must be nearing the interval. Is it me, or is it gettin’ hot in here? Okay, try and take your jacket off quietly…stop rustling…stop rustling…this is so not working…fuck it.

Rocky Horror Picture Show/Via giphy.com
Rocky Horror Picture Show/Via giphy.com

15) And now I’m too cold. Jacket is going back on.

Rocky Horror Picture Show/Via giphy.com
Rocky Horror Picture Show/Via giphy.com

During the interval:

16) Right, 20 minute interval- that’s plenty of time to go to the loo, get some ice cream and get back to talk about thoughts and theories.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Via Tumblr.com
Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Via Tumblr.com

2 minutes before the second half starts:

17) HOW AM I STILL IN THIS QUEUE FOR THE LOOS? *End of interval bell rings*

Spring Awakening/Via Tumblr.com
Spring Awakening/Via Tumblr.com

When the second half starts:

18) Made it! Managed to announce my return in the most spectacular way: tripping on the stairs, and then stepping on everyone’s toes. But I don’t think anyone noticed…really…

The Producers/Via catarinaknight.tumblr.com
The Producers/Via catarinaknight.tumblr.com

19) I didn’t have time to get any ice-cream 😦 *Taps friend*

Book of Mormon/Via fuckyeahthebookofmormon.tumblr.com
Book of Mormon/Via fuckyeahthebookofmormon.tumblr.com

20) *Looks at watch* Wait…this is supposed to end at 10.30 and it’s 10.10. How is it all going to get resolved…?

Rent/Via tumblr.com
Rent/Via tumblr.com

21) *Looks at friend*

Rent/Via tumblr.com
Rent/Via tumblr.com
Rent/Via tumblr.com
Rent/Via tumblr.com
Rent/Via rentheadsunite.tumblr.com
Rent/Via rentheadsunite.tumblr.com

22) :O Noooooo!

Spring Awakening/Via fuckyeah-springawakening-gifs.tumblr.com
Spring Awakening/Via fuckyeah-springawakening-gifs.tumblr.com

23) It can’t end like that! Nope. No. NO.

Moulin Rouge/Via theloonyteenwriter.wordpress.com/
Moulin Rouge/Via theloonyteenwriter.wordpress.com/

After the show ends:

24) THAT WAS SO GOOD! SO SAD, BUT SO GOOD!

Book of Mormon/Via maddymouse.tumblr.com
Book of Mormon/Via maddymouse.tumblr.com

25) I want to watch it again. Can I go again? Please? No…why not? Oh right…

Moulin Rouge/Via tylerposeyrph.tumblr.com
Moulin Rouge/Via tylerposeyrph.tumblr.com

But come what may, I’m sure I’ll find a way- especially with some thrifty thinking 😉 Speaking of which, first batch of ‘Thrifty Tips and Tricks’ is coming Thursday so keep an eye out!

Leave a comment